Blog – News

  • Awards Season Continues!

    By U of M Press in News   |   May 21st 2013

    UMP books and blogs were nominated for Margaret McWilliams Awards and Manitoba Day Awards! Keep reading »

  • Imagining Winnipeg at the MBAs

    By U of M Press in News   |   May 6th 2013

    “Imagining Winnipeg”:http://uofmpress.ca/books/detail/imagining-winnipeg was nominated for four awards at April 28 Manitoba Book Awards. Here we share the judges’ comments. Keep reading »

  • Keavy Martin a finalist for 2012 Gabrielle Roy Prize!

    By U of M Press in News   |   May 1st 2013

    UMP is proud to announce that Keavy Martin’s “Stories in a New Skin”:http://uofmpress.ca/books/detail/stories-in-a-new-skin has been shortlisted for the 2012 Gabrielle Roy Prize (English Section). Many congratulations to Keavy and to the other finalists! Keep reading »

  • Billy Joe Green to appear at CAS/Beautiful Razor launch

    By U of M Press in News   |   April 8th 2013

    The dual launch of Niigaanwewidam James Sinclair’s “Centering Anishinaabeg Studies”:http://uofmpress.ca/books/detail/centering-anishinaabeg-studies (UMP) and Al Hunter’s “Beautiful Razor: Love Songs and Other Lies”:http://kegedonce.com/bookstore/poetry/beautiful-razor-love-poems-a-other-lies.html (Kegedonce Press) will also feature “the Winnipeg bluesman”:http://www.billyjoegreenmusic.com/. Keep reading »

  • Emily Eaton on John Gormley Live TODAY

    By U of M Press in News   |   April 8th 2013

    The author of “Growing Resistance”:http://uofmpress.ca/books/detail/growing-resistance will be on “John Gormley Live”:http://cjme.com/johngormleylive TODAY at 11:00 Mountain Time. Call in and ask her something! Keep reading »

  • Imagining Winnipeg gets FOUR nominations!

    By U of M Press in News   |   March 18th 2013

    Esyllt W. Jones and “Imagining Winnipeg”:http://uofmpress.ca/books/detail/imagining-winnipeg were nominated for four “Manitoba Book Awards”:http://www.mbwriter.mb.ca/book-awards/! Keep reading »

  • Spring Launches (mostly) Confirmed!

    By U of M Press in News   |   February 26th 2013

    UMP authors will be everywhere this spring, launching their titles! Keep reading »

  • Holiday closing

    By U of M Press in News   |   December 17th 2012

    UMP will be closed for the holidays from December 22 to January 3. If you are ordering books through our shopping cart after December 22, please note that they will not be shipped until the first week of January.  Keep reading »

  • Larry Krotz on Tour!

    By U of M Press in News   |   October 10th 2012

    Larry Krotz, author of six books including “Piecing the Puzzle: The Genesis of AIDS Research in Africa”:http://uofmpress.ca/books/detail/piecing-the-puzzle, will be giving several guest lecturesd in November, including stops at McGill’s Faculty of Medicine and UWO’s Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry. Keep reading »

  • Tim Winegard at National History Forum

    By U of M Press in News   |   October 2nd 2012

    Tim Winegard, author of “For King and Kanata”:http://uofmpress.ca/books/detail/for-king-and-kanata, will be presenting at the 6th National History Forum to be held in Ottawa as part of the Governor General’s History Awards. Keep reading »