Awards Season in Full Swing!

By U of M Press

The Manitoba Book Awards and the Saskatchewan Book Awards were both on Saturday night.

UMP was thrilled to receive eight nominations in five categories at the MBAs. On Saturday night, UMP books won in two categories:

The Manuela Dias Book Design and Illustration Award / Design Category for Devil in Deerskins: My Life with Grey Owl by Anahareo. Edited and with an afterword by Sophie McCall, cover design by Mike Carroll, interior design by Jessica Koroscil.

“A beautifully crafted paperback edition with French flaps and a ragged paper interior. The cover design and image treatment speaks lovingly about the author’s real relationship to Grey Owl.” —Megan Fildes, David LeBlanc, and Ian McCausland, judges, The Manuela Dias Book Design and Illustration Award.

The Mary Scorer Award for Best Book by a Manitoba Publisher for Sanaaq: An Inuit Novel by Mitiarjuk Nappaaluk. Transliterated and translated by Bernard Saladin d’Anglure, translated from the French by Peter Frost.

Sanaaq explores life in the Arctic from an Inuit perspective. The publisher mounted an effective national campaign that resulted in a surprise best-seller.” —Melanie Brannagan Frederiksen, Coralie Tremblay, and Susan McIntosh, judges, The Mary Scorer Award for Best Book by a Manitoba Publisher.

At the SBAs, we had received three nominations in two categories. At the awards, which also took place on Saturday night, we won one award:

The Luther College and University of Regina Arts Award for Scholarly Writing for Forest Prairie Edge: Place History in Saskatchewan by Merle Massie.

“In this fascinating, well-researched, and innovative book, historian Merle Massie tells a Saskatchewan story quite different from the more well known narratives of the plains Cree, settler societies, and political and economic developments in the southern half of the province. Instead, she embarks on a ‘deep timid history’ of a single region in the rural parkland belt around Prince Albert, the ecotone where the boreal forest and the prairies meet. An excellent book with an epic sweep.” – John McIntyre, Roger Nash, Eric Strikwerda, judges, Luther College and University of Regina Arts Award for Scholarly Writing.

For more info, see:

Congrats to all of UMP’s nominees, including Jody Perrun, Orest T. Martynowych, Mary Jane Logan McCallum, and Robert Alexander Innes.

Posted in News.

Posted on
April 27th 2015
at 11:56am

« Travis Tomchuk Launch Pics!

Merle Massie at the SBAs! »