Authors for Indies: Saskatoon & Edmonton

On Saturday, May 2, 2015, two UMP authors will volunteer at Canadian independent bookstores as part of “Authors for Indies Day”:

In Saskatoon, Merle Massie—author of “Forest Prairie Edge”:—will greet McNally Robinson Booksellers’ customers, recommending books and highlighting the importance of supporting independent bookshops in Canada. In Edmonton, Keavy Martin—author of “Stories in a New Skin”:—will take a shift at Audreys Books.

The goals of Authors for Indies are to: increase customer traffic, raise awareness of the importance of independent bookstores, strengthen relationships between authors and booksellers, and showcase local writers. Check out the fun and support your local independent bookstore!

Inspired by the hugely successful Indies First campaign in the United States, Authors for Indies started out as a BC-based initiative. With help from publishers, the B.C. Booksellers Association, the Vancouver Writers’ Festival, and the Retail Council of Canada, the celebration has spread across the country with more than 400 authors and more than 100 bookstores signed up, and continues to grow!

About Merle Massie
Merle Massie is a Saskatchewan writer, editor, and farmer who specializes in local, rural, and environmental history. Forest Prairie Edge, her prairie history about life at the edge of the forest, was nominated for a 2015 Saskatchewan Book Award in the Scholarly Writing category.

About Keavy Martin
Keavy Martin is an associate professor in the Department of English and Film Studies at the University of Alberta. Her first book, Stories in a New Skin, won the 2012 Gabrielle Roy Prize (English Section). Her latest project with UMP is the new critical edition of Mini Aodla Freeman’s Life Among the Qallunaat, which she co-edited with Julie Rak and Norma Dunning.

University of Manitoba Press is grateful for the support it receives for its publishing program from the Government of Canada through the Canada Book Fund; the Canada Council for the Arts; the Manitoba Department of Culture, Heritage, and Tourism; the Manitoba Arts Council; and the Aid to Scholarly Publishing Programme.