Episkenew wins First Peoples' Writing Award

Jo-Ann Episkenew took home her second win on November 27th when she was awarded the First Peoples’ Writing Award at the Saskatchewan Book Awards for her book Taking Back Our Spirits: Indigenous Literature, Public Policy, and Healing.

The Saskatchewan Book Awards were established in 1993 by the joint efforts of the Saskatchewan Writers Guild, Saskatchewan Publishers Group and Saskatchewan Library Association. Fourteen awards were presented during the gala celebration of excellence in writing and publishing in the Saskatchewan literary community.

Last year, Jo-Ann won the Sakatchewan Book Awards’ Scholarly Writing Award.