Mary Jane Logan McCallum awarded CRC in Indigenous People, History and Archives

Great News! Mary Jane Logan McCallum, the author of Structures of Indifference and Indigenous Women, Work, and History and a history professor at the University of Winnipeg, has received a Tier II Canada Research Chair in Indigenous People, History and Archives.

“This CRC is about promoting a central role for Indigenous people in the production, preservation and use of knowledge about history. The objectives are two-fold: first, to support Indigenous scholars’ and communities’ efforts in researching and teaching knowledge about the past in ways that reaffirm relationships to land, environment and other people and support Indigenous self-determination. The second objective is to inform local, provincial and national institutions of Indigenous historical preservation in Canada on topics related to Indigenous historical research including access, ethics and research methods and their implications for Indigenous people, communities and lands.”

Other Indigenous-focused CRCs announced include Jaime Cidro’s CRC in Health & Culture and Julie Nagam’s CRC in Indigenous Arts, Collaboration and Digital Media.

“Today’s announcement demonstrates key progress for diversity, equity, and inclusion with the addition of three female Indigenous scholars as Canada Research Chairs and our first female natural science and engineering research chair. Their important work will enhance the research excellence that already takes place at UWinnipeg,” said Dr. Annette Trimbee, President and Vice-Chancellor.

The University of Winnipeg is now home to eight Canada Research Chairs.

“These appointments reflect the quality and significance of research undertaken at UWinnipeg and confirm that the University is engaged in excellent research. All of these researchers are world renowned in their fields, and we are confident that our students, the citizens of Winnipeg and Manitoba, and Canadians in general will reap the benefits of their outstanding work,” said Dr. Jino Distasio, Vice-President, Research and Innovation.